Accessibility Tools


General information:

Village elections are held annually.  Elected representatives (called Commissioners) serve staggered, three year terms.  In Bible Hill, Election Day is the first Saturday after the annual meeting of each year; and there is an Advance Polling Day the Tuesday immediately preceding Election Day.  Electors wishing to run for office must complete a nomination form and submit it to the Returning Officer during the Nomination Period.  Nomination Period means the period from and including the fifth Thursday proceeding Election Day to and including the fourth Thursday preceding election day.


Relevant dates:

  • Nomination period: May 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 2024, between the hours of 8:30 AM -12:00 PM and 1:00 PM - 4:30 PM

  • Annual Meeting of Electors - Monday, June 3, 2024, 7:00 PM

  • Advance Poll - Tuesday, June 4, 2024, 11:00 AM. - 7:00 PM

  • Election Day - Saturday, June 8, 2024, 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM


Who can be a Commissioner?

  • No person is qualified to serve as a Village Commissioner unless the person is an elector (refer to the definition of "elector" below)

  • An elector who is a council member is not qualified to serve as a Village Commissioner.

  • Every Village Commissioner shall take and subscribe the oath of office prescribed by the Municipal Elections Act in the manner prescribed by that Act before entering upon the duties of Village Commissioner.

  • A Village Commissioner whose term of office has expired is eligible for re-election.


To vote, a person must be an elector. Who is an elector? A person who:

  • is a Canadian citizen;

  • is at least 18 years old; and

  • has been ordinarily resident in Bible Hill, NS for six months; and

  • is a resident within the Village entitled to vote at a municipal election, and

  • has been ordinarily resident in the Province for a period of six months, and

  • has been ordinarily resident in the municipality or in an area annexed to the municipality, and

  • is entitled to be registered on the list of electors to vote. 


 Paperwork for Commissioner Candidates: